Rockland County Executive Ed Day joined County Commissioner of Health Dr. Patricia Schnabel Ruppert on at the Rockland County Fire Training Center in Pomona to announce the winners of this year’s EMS Awards. The celebration marked the start of National Emergency Medical Services Week, May 17 to May 23, 2015. Now in its 41st year, EMS Week is a time for national appreciation of the daily life-saving service that EMS practitioners provide to their patients, and an acknowledgement of the important role of EMS in our nation’s healthcare system.

The following EMS practitioners were recognized for outstanding contributions to their EMS agencies, communities and the County of Rockland:

Aaron Glatzer- Basic Life Support Provider of the Year

Laura Gluck- Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year

Cassidy Hubert- Youth Member of the Year

Haverstraw Volunteer Ambulance Corps- EMS Agency of the Year

William Stone- EMS Leadership Award

Lorraine Monahan- EMS Communications Specialist of the Year

Steve Bastion- Registered Professional Nurse of Excellence

Dr. Mark Papish- Physician of Excellence

Desiree Leone-Stoll- Educator of the Year

Nick Rusiecki- Rockland County Health Commissioner’s Award

Graig “Giddy” Straus- Excellence in EMS Quality and Safety Award