County Firefighters’ Convention Sept. 7

The Wayne Hose Co. 1 of Stony Point will host the 100th annual convention of the Rockland County Volunteer Firemen’s Association at 7:30 p.m., Friday, Sept. 7 at Kirkbride Hall, Willow Grove and Letchworth Village roads, Stony Point.

Wayne Hose is celebrating its 118th anniversary of service to the community by hosting the convention and subsequent parade this year.

Paul Schlegel of the Stony Point FD is running unopposed for election as association president. John Intrieri of the West Haverstraw FD is the lone nominee for election as first vice president. The balance of the unopposed slate is John Kryger (West Haverstraw FD), corresponding secretary; Bruce McClintock (Suffern FD), recording secretary; Robert Capello (Spring Valley FD), financial secretary; and Mike Kramar (Hillcrest FD), treasurer.

A memorial service will be held for all association members who have died since the last convention, and life membership and longevity certificates will be distributed to 25 and 50-year association members respectively.

A highlight of the evening will be the awarding of the Firefighter of the Year award and the annual Liberty Mutual Insurance Fire Mark award for excellence in fire prevention. The Rockland County Fire Instructors’ Association will present its two Lt. Andrew Fredericks Memorial scholarships as well.

The convention parade in Stony Point steps off at 2 p.m., Saturday, Sept. 8 on Route 210 and down Route 9W south to the town line.