Guided Park Walks a Great Option for Outdoors Activity

Guided Park Walks a Great Option for Outdoors Activity

 

Rockland County is organizing a series of guided walks at a variety of parks in Rockland County throughout 2012. These walks, led by experienced Rockland County Trail Guide Docents, provide an opportunity to explore the beautiful, natural environment of Rockland County.

With over one-third of the county designated as parkland, there is a lot to explore! The parks highlighted in this year’s schedule offer visitors varied terrain, great scenery, interesting discussion points, and different levels of walking (1 sneaker is easy, 2 sneaker is moderate, 3 sneaker is strenuous).

Month

Date

Time

Park

Walk Details

March  

Saturday, March 17

 

Saturday, March 24

 

Saturday, March 24

 

9:00am – 11:30am

 

1:00pm – 3:00pm

 

10:00am – 12:00pm

 

Harriman State Park

 

*Greenbrook Sanctuary

 

Rockland Lake State Park

 

4 miles/2 sneaker

 

3 miles/2 sneaker

 

3 miles/2 sneaker

April

 

Sunday, April 1

 

Saturday, April 21

 

Saturday, April 21

 

Sunday, April 29

10:00am – 12:00pm

 

10:00am – 1:00pm

 

10:00am – 12:00pm

 

10:00am – 12:00pm

Nyack Beach State Park

 

Doodletown

 

Top of Hook Mountain

 

*Bear Mountain Bridge

3.5 miles/2 sneaker

 

4.5 miles/3 sneaker

 

3 miles/2.5 sneaker

 

3 miles/1.5 sneaker

May Sunday, May 6

 

Saturday, May 12

 

Saturday, May 19

TBA

 

10:00am – 12.30pm

 

10:00am – 12:30pm

Demarest Kill

 

Fort Montgomery Historic Site

 

Demarest Kill/Dutch Garden

1 sneaker

 

2.5 miles/2 sneaker

 

2 miles/1.5 sneaker

June

 

Saturday, June 2

 

Sunday, June 3

 

Sunday, June 3

 

Sunday, June 3

11:00am – 12:00pm

 

10:00am – 12:00pm

 

10:00am – 12:00pm

 

10:00am – 12:00pm

Nanuet Outdoor Edu. Ctr.

 

Kakiat Park-Nat’l Trails Day

 

Piermont Pier-Nat’l Trails Day

 

Kennedy Dells-Nat’l Trails Day

1 sneaker

 

2 miles/3 sneaker

 

2.5 miles/1 sneaker

 

2 miles/2 sneaker


 

Month

Date

Time

Park

Walk Details

July Saturday, July 14

 

Saturday, July 21

 

Saturday, July 28

9:00am – 11:30am

 

10:00am – 12:00pm

 

9:30am – 11:30am

Dater Mountain Nature Park

 

Kennedy Dells

 

Demarest Kill

3 miles/ 3 sneaker

 

3 miles/ 2 sneaker

 

<1 mile/1 sneaker

Sept.

 

Saturday, Sept. 8

 

Saturday, Sept. 15

 

Sunday, Sept. 30

10:00am – 12:00am

 

10:00am – 12:00pm

 

10:00am – 12:30pm

Reeves Meadow – Harriman

 

Buttermilk Falls

 

Stateline Lookout

3 miles/2 sneaker

 

TBA

 

2.5 miles/2 sneaker

Oct. Saturday, Oct. 6

 

Saturday, Oct. 20

10:00am – 12:00pm

 

9:30am – 1:00pm

* Bear Mountain Bridge

 

Orak Trail – Harriman

3 miles/1.5 sneaker

 

4.5 miles/3 sneaker

Nov. Saturday, Nov. 10 9:00am – 11:30am Dater Mountain Nature Park 3 miles/3 sneaker


Walks are sponsored by the Rockland County Division of Environmental Resources, the Rockland County Youth Bureau’s AmeriCorps program, and the Rockland County Department of Health’s Steps to a Healthier Rockland program.