Blood Need Extremely Critical says New York Blood Center

BY GEORGE J. DACRE

Robin S.Friehling, Account Manager for the New York Blood Center, which has an office at 25 Smith Street in Nanuet, says the need for blood donations, and especially O negative, the universal donor, is extremely critical and urges everyone to participate in 19 scheduled blood drives in Rockland county this month. Donors, she told the Rockland County Times, can go online to www.nybloodc enter.org or by calling 1-800-933-2566. “Walk-ins are always welcome”, she stated, “but it does help us to plan our staffing and supplies if we have an idea of the number of donors that are expected at each drive.”

Here is the schedule of blood drives:

 

Thursday, January 5, Blue Hill Plaza, Lobby Level 2 Blue Hill Plaza, Pearl River, 9:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 5, Congers Fire Department, 40 North Harrison Avenue, Congers, 4 – 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 7, DeCarlo Chiropractic 29 Third Street New City ,10 a.m – 4 p.m.

Sunday, January 8, St. Catherine’s Church, Blauvelt 517 Western Highway, Blauvelt, 8 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Monday, January 9, Park Evangelical Church 4 Roosevelt Place, New City, 4:30 -9 p.m.

Tuesday, January 10, Friends of Vin Tabulka 15 Louis Drive, West Nyack, 3 – 7:30 p.m.

Friday, January 13, Thiells Elementary School 78 Rosman Road, Thiells, 4 – 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 14, West Haverstraw Volunteer Hose Company 30 East Railroad Avenue,West Haverstraw, 10 a.m – 4 p.m.

Sunday, January 15, Pearl River Interfaith, Pearl River Fire Department 58 East Central Avenue, Pearl River, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Monday, January 16, JCC of Rockland 450 West Nyack Road, West Nyack, 9 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Wednesday, January 18, Bloodstock-Gan Street Community Center 31 Zukor Road, New City, 3 – 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, January 18, Clarkstown Central School District, 62 Old Middletown Road, New City, 11:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Monday, January 23, Rose Memorial Library 79 East Main Street, Stony Point, 2 – 8 p.m.

Tuesday, January 24, East Ramapo Nurses Association, 105 Madison Avenue, Spring Valley, 2 – 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, January 24, Ramapo CSD Teachers Association, 45 Mountain Avenue, Hillburn, 11:30 – 5:30 p.m

Friday, January 27, Willow Grove Middle school, 153 Storrs Road, Thiells, 2:45 – 8:45 p.m.

Sunday, January 29, St. Francis of Assissi, 128 Parrott Road, West Nyack, 8:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

 

Robin Friehling may be reached at 914-784-4637 or 914-447-3516

Conditions and up to date information about New York skiing and riding are always available on www.skiandrideny.com.